Fall Fare

 

We have really gorgeous fall bounty from our garden. This year I want to try to make something different than our usual “stir-fry and plop it  with rice”.

So, here is my first go:

Pumpkin Soup

This is my recipe,  there are so many variations you can have with squash.

1 medium pumpkin:  seeded, peeled, halved
  and roasted for 1hr at 350
4tbs butter
1 large onion
1 cup celery
1/4 cup fresh grated ginger
salt
black pepper
1/4 cup red wine (I just use whatever is lying around)
2 cups stock (I actually use water, but I bet
if I ever used chicken broth it would be good)

Warm butter in a large skillet, add onion, celery then garlic.

Add black pepper and ginger

Then add chunks of pumpkin cooking on a medium heat

Cook until pumpkin starts to stick to the pan, I let mine burn a tiny bit

Once sticky add the red wine and turn on high

While the liquids start boiling, scrape the bottom of the pan

When things look like they are going to stick again add your stock

Stir and let boil for about 5-8min

Let your pan cool and pop it in the blender.

Joy! All the fresh flavors pop out.

I added yogurt and parsley for garnish.

Leave a Reply

